About Slovakia

Snowy countryside

Slovakia is situated in the very centre of Europe. Its neighbouring countries are Poland, Ukraine, Hungary, Austria, and the Czech Republic.

Slovakia's population is 5.5 million. Bratislava is the capital and major city. Other cities are Košice, Banská Bystrica, Nitra, Žilina, Prešov, Trnava, Trenčín, Martin, Poprad, and Zvolen.

Most popular destinations for tourists in Slovakia are Bratislava, Vysoké Tatry (the High Tatra Mountains), Nízke Tatry (The Low Tatra Mountains), and Slovenský raj (The Slovak Paradise).

The Slovak Republic is a parliamentary democracy. It is a member state of the European Union, NATO, WTO, OECD, Schengen Treaty, and other organisations.

Spišský hrad - Spis Castle

Slovakia is an ethnically mixed country. About 10% of the population are ethnic Hungarians. Komarno, Dunajska Streda and Kosice are towns with largest Hungarian population. Up to 8% of the population are Romany people who live mainly in the East of the country. Other larger ethnic minorities are Ruthenians, Ukrainians, Czechs, Poles, and Germans.

Slovakia has a typical mild continental European climate. The South of the country is mainly flat, whereas the Central and Northern parts of it are mainly mountenious, with Vysoke Tatry and Nizke Tatry being two main mountain ranges.

Historically Slovakia used to be predominantly an agricultural country. Nowadays it is one of world's greates producers of automobiles (per capita).

Slovakia's official currency is Euro.


Hotels in Slovakia

Online Reservations - Click here to book a room

Add Hotel - Pridaj ubytovacie zariadenie do databázy